Photographic project

Copyright : Jean-Claude Martinez

“Shared heritages, looks on the Euro-Mediterranean legacy” is a photographic project held by the Alliance of Euro-Mediterranean Cultural Cities and labelled by the French Ministry for Culture in the context of the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018.
The aim is to highlight the existence, in the Euro-Mediterranean area, of a common identity and a shared legacy, embodied by the Roman and Byzantine heritage. The project also wants to reveal the alive nature of the heritage and so ask to give some thoughts about its use and ownership by inhabitants and visitors.
For that, the AVEC network appealed to Jean-Claude Martinez, an author photographer who, during the course of his work, has developed a very personal and deeply humanistic look. Thanks to images taken at the ground level and in panoramic format, the photographer works on the insertion of the human figure in his shots to highlight links that people have with their environment.
From February to July 2018, the photographer will set up several mini-artist residencies for 2 or 3 days each, in the member cities taking part of this project : communities in Portugal, France, Malta, Romania, Serbia, Tunisia, Lebanon… Pictures realized will be put together within the framework of an exhibition and a book.

Projet photographique

Copyright : Jean-Claude Martinez

« Patrimoines en partage, regards sur l’héritage euro-méditerranéen » est un projet photographique porté par l’Alliance de Villes Euro-méditerranéennes de Culture et labellisé au titre de l’Année Européenne du Patrimoine Culturel 2018 par le Ministère français de la Culture.

L’objectif est de mettre en lumière l’existence, dans l’espace euro-méditerranéen, d’une identité commune et d’un héritage partagé, incarnés par le patrimoine romano-byzantin. Le projet souhaite aussi révéler le caractère vivant du patrimoine pour inviter à réfléchir à son utilisation et appropriation par les habitants et les visiteurs.
Le réseau AVEC a donc fait appel à Jean-Claude Martinez, un auteur photographe qui, au fil de ses travaux, a développé un regard très personnel et profondément humaniste. Grâce à des images réalisées au niveau du sol et en format panoramique, le photographe s’intéresse à l’insertion de la figure humaine dans ses prises de vue et aux liens que les personnes tissent avec les éléments environnementaux qui les entourent.

De février à juillet 2018, le photographe réalisera plusieurs mini-résidences d’artiste, d’une durée de 2 à 3 jours, dans les villes membres du réseau ayant adhéré au projet : des collectivités du Portugal, France, Malte, Roumanie, Serbie, Tunisie, Liban…Les photographies réalisées seront rassemblées dans le cadre d’une exposition et d’une publication.